Consulting

© Shutterstock.com

Knowledge Transfer by Industrial Consulting

For the WBA , industry consulting means a transparent thematic focus, well-proven standards in the implementation of solutions as well as a professional handling of projects. Concrete improvements of companies rest on the approaches tested in numerous projects within the various consulting topics. Due to the unique focus of research activities in the field of tool making, the close cooperation with experts at RWTH Aachen University and the Fraunhofer institutes, new findings continuously flow into the further development of tried solution approaches. On this basis, the WBA supports companies in successfully realizing their improvement potentials with regard to the state of technology.

The starting point of an industry project is the determination of the organizational and technological capabilities of the tool room. The evaluation is carried out in cooperation with the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology (IPT), which have an extensive benchmarking database with datasets for tool rooms worldwide. This worldwide unique database allows for well-grounded statements to be made about the status quo of the company. A concrete result of the evaluation is the comparison of the own company with those of similar tool rooms or the industry average by using characteristic figures. In this manner, the relevant areas of improvement can be identified and the approach within the project can be individually adapted for each company’s needs.

The modular service portfolio offered by the WBA for the industry forms its basis. The relevant topics are summarized in consulting areas and are oriented towards the formation process of a tool, combined with similar areas. Together with other competence areas with regard to organizational and technological topics, company and application-specific solutions are worked out in projects and finalized with a successful implementation of improvement measures.

Strategy

In the consulting field of strategy, topics are handled that deal with the strategic positioning of the tool room. Among others, this includes the implementation of benchmarking in order to determine the company’s competitiveness as well as the definition of strategic success positions needed to reach sustainable success.

Price Formation

The consulting field of price formation deals with the offer phase of the tool making process. This includes the evaluation of current cost calculation as well as its optimization by developing new documents, working out a cost calculation system or choosing suitable software. The requirement for a appropriately-detailed cost calculation is the cost transparency along the entire process chain. The goal is to identify the cost drivers and eliminate them.

Engineering

In the consulting field of engineering the entire engineering process is analyzed, evaluated and optimized. One of the goals of this field is the standardization of individual tool components, which is a prerequisite for process standardization. Further, topics, such as the interfaces between CAD and CAM systems and the integration of generative manufacturing processes, are broached.

Planning and Control

The consulting field of planning and control has the aim of making all the different order types, and thus their complexity, controllable for order fulfillment. The starting point is the standardization of manufacturing process sequences in mechanical manufacturing. This standardization makes a high-resolution plan and control possible as per the 3-level model (rough planning, detailed planning and control). The most fully developed form of planning is the cycle rate of assembly components. Determining the cycle rate potential as well as the introduction of cycle rate lines thus also falls into this consulting field.

Process Management

The consulting field of process management is broad and is involved in all processes necessary for a successful order fulfillment. In the focus of this field is the recording of current processes with its weak points as well as the definition of milestones and the development of a target process. In this context, necessary documents for order fulfillment are also defined and shaped. Due to the diversity of orders in the tool and die industry, caused by partially planned or unplanned order types, segmentation is a possible solution for this dilemma and hence another focus of process management.

Manufacturing Technologies

The consulting field of manufacturing technologies deals with all manufacturing technologies necessary to produce a tool. This includes, among others, milling, turning, grinding, die-sinking EDM and wire-cut EDM. For these technologies, current or potential machines are evaluated based on recorded criteria and then compared, so that an optimal choice can be made for a company. Also, the implementation of new machines in an existing process landscape and the introduction of automation solution at existing machines are part of this consulting field.

Operative Excellence

At the center of the consulting field operative excellence are classical lean topics. This includes areas such as cleanliness and order (6S), visualization, transparency and shop floor management based on characteristic figures. A higher-level goal is the transfer from a classical workshop, typically present in older tool rooms that grew over time, to an industrialized process management.

Market Intelligence

With respect to the consulting field of market intelligence, the goal is to have transparency in selected markets for competitors, customers and suppliers. This is done via an intensive examination of the market, for example in the standardized manner of the WBA. Hereby, suppliers can be identified and then evaluated according to company-specific criteria, allowing the tool rooms to make well-founded choices. This market intelligence makes the conceptual design and introduction of sustainable sourcing strategies possible, guaranteeing supplies for tools at all production facilities.

Layout

In the consulting field of layout has a focus on the redesign of the shop floor as a place for value creation. In this area it is important to identify the main material flows, despite a multitude of different processes, and laying out the tool room according to material and information flow. The support of the WBA in this consulting field reaches from conception, over planning, to implementation.

WBA References

Contact

© WBA

Dr.-Ing. Michael Salmen
Head of Consulting

Phone +49 241 99016361
Email beratung@werkzeugbau-akademie.de

Industrieberatung

© Shutterstock.com

Wissenstransfer durch Industrieberatung

Industrieberatung bedeutet für uns als WBA eine thematische Fokussierung auf eine Problemstellung in einem bilateralen Projekt, erprobte Standards in der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Lösungen sowie eine professionelle Projektabwicklung durch Experten. Konkrete Verbesserungen in Unternehmen beruhen auf in zahlreichen Projekten erprobten Vorgehensweisen innerhalb der unterschiedlichen Beratungsthemen. Durch die weltweit einmalige Fokussierung der Forschungstätigkeiten auf das Thema Werkzeugbau in enger Vernetzung mit den Experten der RWTH Aachen und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft fließen neue Erkenntnisse aus der angewandten Forschung kontinuierlich in die Beratungsthemen ein. Dies ermöglicht eine stetige Weiterentwicklung erprobter Lösungsansätze. Auf dieser Basis unterstützt die WBA Industrieunternehmen bei der erfolgreichen Realisierung von Verbesserungspotenzialen im Hinblick auf den neuesten Stand der Technik.

Ausgangspunkt eines Industrieprojekts ist die Bestimmung der organisatorischen und technologischen Leistungsfähigkeit des Werkzeugbaubetriebs. Die Bewertung erfolgt in Kooperation mit dem Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT, welche über eine umfangreiche Benchmarking-Datenbank mit weltweiten Datensätzen verfügen. Diese weltweit einmalige Datenbasis erlaubt eine fundierte Aussage über den Status quo des Unternehmens. Konkretes Ergebnis der Bewertung ist der Vergleich der eigenen Unternehmenskennzahlen mit denen ähnlicher Werkzeugbaubetriebe sowie dem Branchendurchschnitt. Auf diese Weise können relevante Handlungsfelder identifiziert und die Vorgehensweise im Projekt individuell auf die jeweiligen unternehmensspezifischen Bedürfnisse ausgerichtet werden.

Grundlage des Industrieangebots der WBA bildet das modular aufgebaute Leistungsportfolio. Die relevanten Themen sind in Beratungsfeldern zusammengefasst und orientieren sich am Entstehungsprozess eines Werkzeugs, kombiniert mit angrenzenden Themengebieten. Kompetenzfeldübergreifend in Bezug auf organisatorische und technologische Themen werden in Projekten unternehmens- und anwendungsspezifische Lösungsansätze erarbeitet und mit einer erfolgreichen Maßnahmenumsetzung abgeschlossen.

Strategie

Im Beratungsfeld Strategie werden Themen bearbeitet, welche die strategische Positionierung des Werkzeugbaubetriebs umfassen. Hierunter fallen u.a. die Durchführung von Benchmarkings zur Bestimmung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie die Definition strategischer Erfolgspositionen zur Erreichung von nachhaltigem Erfolg.

Preisbildung

Das Beratungsfeld Preisbildung beschäftigt sich mit der Angebotsphase des Werkzeugerstellungsprozesses. Dies umfasst die Bewertung der aktuellen Kalkulation sowie die Optimierung dieser durch die Entwicklung neuer Dokumente, die Erarbeitung einer Kalkulationssystematik oder aber der Auswahl geeigneter Software. Die Voraussetzung für eine anforderungsgerechte Kalkulation bildet die Kostentransparenz entlang der gesamten Prozesskette. Ziel hierbei ist es, Kostentreiber zu identifizieren und zu eliminieren.

Engineering

Im Beratungsfeld Engineering wird der gesamten Engineering-Prozess analysiert, bewertet und optimiert. Eines der Ziele dieses Felds ist die Standardisierung der einzelnen Komponenten eines Werkzeugs, welche die Voraussetzung für eine Prozessstandardisierung bildet. Zudem werden Themen wie die Schnittstellen zwischen CAD- und CAM-Systemen und die Einbindung generativer Fertigungsverfahren in die bestehende Prozesskette thematisiert.

Planung und Steuerung

Das Beratungsfeld Planung und Steuerung hat zum Ziel, die unterschiedlichen Auftragsarten und die damit verbundene Komplexität in der Auftragsabwicklung beherrschbar zu machen. Ausgangspunkt hierfür ist die Standardisierung von Fertigungsprozessfolgen in der mechanischen Fertigung. Diese Standardisierung ermöglicht eine hochauflösende Planung und Steuerung durch das 3-Ebenen-Modell (Grobplanung, Feinplanung und Steuerung). Die ausgereifteste Form der Planung bildet die Taktung der Bauteile. Die Ermittlung des Taktungspotenzial sowie die Einführung von Taktlinien fällt somit ebenfalls in dieses Beratungsfeld.

Prozessmanagement

Das Beratungsfeld Prozessmanagement ist weit gefasst und beschäftigt sich mit allen zur erfolgreichen Auftragsabwicklung notwendigen Prozessen. Im Fokus dieses Feldes stehen die Aufnahme von Ist-Prozessen mit ihren Schwachstellen sowie die Definition von Meilensteinen und die Entwicklung eines Soll-Prozesses. In diesem Zusammenhang werden auch notwendige Dokumente für die Austragsabwicklung definiert und ausgestaltet. Aufgrund der Auftragsvielfalt im Werkzeugbau durch teilweise geplante, aber vor allem auch ungeplante Auftragsarten, stellt die Segmentierung als Lösungsmöglichkeit des Dilemmas einen weiteren Schwerpunkt des Prozessmanagements dar.

Fertigungstechnologien

Das Beratungsfeld Fertigungstechnologien beschäftigt sich mit allen zur Herstellung eines Werkzeugs notwendigen Fertigungstechnologien. Hierunter fallen u.a. Fräsen, Drehen, Schleifen sowie Draht- und Senkerodieren. Für diese Technologien werden aktuelle oder potenzielle Maschinen anhand von aufgenommenen Kriterien bewertet und miteinander vergleichen, sodass eine für das Unternehmen optimale Auswahl erfolgen kann. Auch die Implementierung neuer Maschinen in die bestehende Prozesslandschaft sowie die Einführung von Automatisierungslösungen an bestehenden Maschinen sind Bestandteile dieses Beratungsfelds.

Operative Exzellenz

Im Beratungsfeld Operative Exzellenz stehen klassische Lean-Themen im Mittelpunkt. Hierunter fallen Handlungsfelder wie Ordnung und Sauberkeit (6S), Visualisierung, Transparenz und ein kennzahlenbasiertes Shopfloormanagement. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist die Überführung der klassischen Werkstattfertigung historisch gewachsener Werkzeugbaubetriebe in eine industrialisierte Prozessabwicklung.

Marktintelligenz

Hinsichtlich des Beratungsfelds Marktintelligenz ist es das Ziel, eine Transparenz über ausgewählte Märkte in Bezug auf Wettbewerber, Kunden und Lieferanten zu erhalten. Dies geschieht durch eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Markt und erfolgt anhand einer standardisierten Vorgehensweise der WBA. Hierdurch können Lieferanten identifiziert, anhand von unternehmenspezifischen Kriterien bewertet und fundiert ausgewählt werden. Diese Marktintelligenz ermöglicht die Konzeptionierung und Einführung einer nachhaltigen Sourcing-Strategie, welche die Werkzeugversorgung für alle Produktionsstätten sicherstellt.

Layout

Im Beratungsfeld Layout steht die Neugestaltung des Shopfloors als Ort der eigentlichen Wertschöpfung im Mittelpunkt. Hierbei gilt es, trotz der Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Prozesse die Hauptmaterialflüsse zu identifizieren und das Layout materialflussorientiert und informationsflussorientiert auszulegen. Hierbei reicht die Unterstützung der WBA von der Konzeption über die Planung bis hin zur Umsetzung.

WBA Referenzen

Ihr Ansprechpartner

© WBA

Dr.-Ing. Michael Salmen
Leiter Industrieprojekte

Telefon +49 241 99016361
E-Mail beratung@werkzeugbau-akademie.de